The project

[French version]

The Breton Dialects Sound Archive is a collaborative project for making available on the Internet a wide range of recordings of traditional Breton-speakers made over the past dozen years or so.

The purpose of these online archives, compiled by a team of volonteer collectors all keen on studying the language and traditions of Breton-speaking Brittany, is to share with the broad public the wealth and diversity of this important cultural heritage.

The corpus

The recordings in our archive come from individual collections, and for the most part have not yet been published. The corpus includes recordings made for a variety of purposes, ranging from the study of sounds, grammar and vocabulary to the investigation of traditional farming techniques, folk medicine and popular beliefs.

Each recording has been carefully selected, transcribed, translated and catalogued, and in some cases comes with iconographic materials. Thanks to the dedicated search engine specially developed for this project, linguists, ethnologists, teachers and students, whether already seriously involved or just curious, may easily find in the corpus whatever information is of particular interest to them.

Legal note

This website is governed by a Creative Commons licence. Each contributor is responsible for the documents they have been willing to share online. If a particular extract is of interest to you in your work, you are entitled to use it for non-commercial purposes only. When doing so, please remember to mention as your source the Breton Dialects Sound Archive, together with the reference number of the recording and the date of the most recent update.

Présentation du projet

[English version]

La Banque Sonore des Dialectes Bretons est un projet collaboratif qui réunit sur internet un vaste ensemble d'enregistrements d'enquêtes effectuées depuis plus d'une dizaine d'années auprès de locuteurs traditionnels de breton.

Alimentées par une équipe de bénévoles partageant un intérêt commun pour l'étude de la langue et des traditions populaires, ces archives en ligne souhaitent faire partager au plus grand nombre la richesse et la diversité de ce patrimoine culturel.

Présentation du corpus

Les enregistrements réunis dans nos archives proviennent de fonds particuliers pour la plupart inédits jusqu'à présent. L'ensemble de ce corpus concerne des domaines de recherche très divers pouvant aller de l'étude des sons, de la grammaire et du vocabulaire de la langue à l'étude des techniques agricoles, de la médecine traditionnelle ou encore des croyances populaires.

Chaque ressource est soigneusement sélectionnée, transcrite, traduite et cataloguée et peut être accompagnée d'illustrations iconographiques. Grâce au moteur de recherche développé pour ce projet, linguistes, ethnologues, enseignants, étudiants, passionnés ou simples curieux... tous pourront facilement extraire de ce corpus les informations qui les intéressent.

Mentions légales

Ce site bénéficie d'une licence Creative Commons. Chaque déposant reste néanmoins responsable des documents qu'il souhaite faire partager en ligne. Si un extrait vous intéresse pour vos travaux, vous pouvez l'utiliser à des fins non commerciales. N'oubliez pas de citer le nom du projet ainsi que le numéro de sa cote suivi de la date de sa dernière mise à jour.